FC Schalke 04


Gelsenkirchen is a city in the North Rhine-Westphalia state of Germany. It is located in the northern part of the Ruhr area. Its population in 2015 was 260,000.

In the early 20th century, Gelsenkirchen was the most important coal mining town in Europe. It was called the "city of a thousand fires" for the flames of mine gasses flaring at night. There are no longer colliers in Gelsenkirchen with the city searching for a new image, having been hit for decades with one of the highest unemployment rates in Germany. Today Germany's largest solar power plant is located in the city. In Gelsenkirchen-Scholven there is a coal-fired power station with the tallest chimneys in Germany (302 m).

Gelsenkirchen is home of the famous football club Schalke 04, which is named after the borough Schalke, while the club's stadium, the Veltins-Arena, is located in the borough of Erle.



July 1st, 1899


blue and white




Championships: 1934, 1935, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1942, 1958
German Cup winner: 1937, 1972, 2001, 2002, 2011

League Cup: 2006

German Supercup: 2012
UEFA Cup: 1997






62,271 (all covered)
45,962 seats

16,309 standing

Average attendance:

60,762 (97.6%) season 2016/17


Beer: Veltins 4.20€/0.5l

Sausage: 2.70€


There are 4 different categories for seats and one for standing. Prices range from 15.50€ to 62€

Tickets: Go to ticket center



Exit 6 (Gelsenkirchen-Buer) on the A2 autobahn and Exit 17 (Gelsenkirchen-Schalke) on the A42 take you straight to the VELTINS Arena. Simply follow the VELTINS Arena signs on leaving the motorway.

Public transport:

To/ from central station: Take the tram to the VELTINS Arena from Gelsenkirchen central station. On the lower level of the station you will find the tram stop 'Gelsenkirchen Hauptbahnhof'. The number 302 (direction GE-Buer) takes you straight to the VELTINS Arena stop. The journey takes around 15 minutes. At many major events, additional tram services are provided to cater for demand.

For football matches, your match ticket entitles you to use all means of transport in the VRR region free of charge.

Airport: Three major airports are in the VRR region: Düsseldorf (DUS), Dortmund (DTM) and Weeze (NRN).